We're always looking for ways to make better. Have an idea? See something that needs fixing? Let us know!



 Eastern Mediterranean, peninsula on the southwest coast of Cyprus

Geographic Coordinates:

 34 37 N, 32 58 E


 Total: 123 sq km

Note: includes a salt lake and wetlands

Area - Comparative:

 About 0.7 times the size of Washington, DC

Land Boundaries:

 Total: 47.4 km
Border countries: Cyprus 47.4 km


 56.3 km (Rank: 180)


 Temperate; Mediterranean with hot, dry summers and cool winters

Environment - Current Issues:

 Hunting around the salt lake; note - breeding place for loggerhead and green turtles; only remaining colony of griffon vultures is on the base

Geography - Note:

 British extraterritorial rights also extended to several small off-post sites scattered across Cyprus; of the Sovereign Base Area (SBA) land, 60% is privately owned and farmed, 20% is owned by the Ministry of Defense, and 20% is SBA Crown land

Back to the Top



 English, Greek


 Approximately 15,700 live on the Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia including 7,700 Cypriots, 3,600 Service and UK-based contract personnel, and 4,400 dependents

Back to the Top


Country Name:

 Conventional long form: none
Conventional short form: Akrotiri


 Name: Episkopi Cantonment (base administrative center for Akrotiri and Dhekelia)
Geographic coordinates: 34 40 N, 32 51 E
Time difference: UTC+2 (7 hours ahead of Washington, DC during Standard Time)
Daylight saving time: +1hr, begins last Sunday in March; ends last Sunday in October

Dependency Status:

 A special form of UK overseas territory; administered by an administrator who is also the Commander, British Forces Cyprus


 Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia Order in Council 1960, effective 16 August 1960, functions as a basic legal document

Legal System:

 The Sovereign Base Area Administration has its own court system to deal with civil and criminal matters; laws applicable to the Cypriot population are, as far as possible, the same as the laws of the Republic of Cyprus

Executive Branch:

 Chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952)

Head of government: Administrator Air Vice Marshall Graham STACEY (since 4 November 2010); note - reports to the British Ministry of Defense; the Chief Officer is responsible for the day-to-day running of the civil government of the Sovereign Bases

Elections: none; the monarchy is hereditary; the administrator appointed by the monarch

Judicial Branch:

 The Court headed by a resident judge and senior judges from the UK as needed; note - the laws of the Sovereign Base Areas are kept as close as possible to the laws of the Republic of Cyprus

Diplomatic Representation in the US:

 None (overseas territory of the UK)

Diplomatic Representation From the US:

 None (overseas territory of the UK)

Flag Description:

 The flag of the UK is used

National Anthem:

 Note: as a United Kingdom area of special sovereignty, "God Save the Queen" is official (see United Kingdom)


 (UK Sovereign Base Area)

Back to the Top


Economy - Overview:

 Economic activity is limited to providing services to the military and their families located in Akrotiri. All food and manufactured goods must be imported.

Exchange Rates:

 Convert Euro to Any Currency

Note: uses the euro

Back to the Top


Broadcast Media:

 British Forces Broadcast Service (BFBS) provides multi-channel satellite TV service as well as BFBS radio broadcasts to the Akrotiri Sovereign Base (2009)

Radio Broadcast Stations:

 AM NA, FM 1, shortwave NA (British Forces Broadcasting Service (BFBS) provides Radio 1 and Radio 2 service to Akrotiri, Dhekelia, and Nicosia) (2006)

Television Broadcast Stations:

 0 (British Forces Broadcasting Service (BFBS) provides multi-channel satellite service to Akrotiri, Dhekelia, and Nicosia) (2006)

Back to the Top


Military - Note:

 Akrotiri has a full RAF base, Headquarters for British Forces Cyprus, and Episkopi Support Unit

Back to the Top

Last Updated: December 2011

Akrotiri Main Page World Factbook Main Page


Click any image to enlarge.

National Flag

(€) Euro (EUR)
Convert to Any Currency


Locator Map