We're always looking for ways to make better. Have an idea? See something that needs fixing? Let us know!



Basic information

Area: 644,329km2
Population: 8,260,490 (52, 48)
Capital City: Juba
Languages: Arabic and English
Religion(s): Christianity/Animism/Islam
Currency: Sudanese Pound
Major political parties: SLPM
President of Southern Sudan: President Salva Kiir
Vice President: Riek Machar
Foreign Minister: Deng Alor
Membership of international groups/organisations: None as yet

Back to the Top


Oil revenues constitute more than 98% of the government of South Sudan’s budget. The oil and other mineral resources can be found throughout Southern Sudan, but the Bentiu is commonly known as being especially rich in oil, while Jonglei, Warap and Lake states have potential reserves.

Back to the Top


In January 2011, the people of South Sudan voted in a referendum to decide whether to break away from Sudan and become an independent state. An overwhelming majority - 99.83% of voters - voted for secession.

South Sudan became independent on 9 July 2011.

There are on-going disputes between Sudan and South Sudan.

Back to the Top


The Department for International Development (DFID) works with South Sudan in a number of ways, including reducing poverty, tackling corruption and providing the resources for sustainable livelihoods. For more information on what DFID are doing in South Sudan, please visit their website.

Back to the Top


South Sudan, the newest nation in Africa, borders Central African Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Uganda, Kenya and Ethiopia.

South Sudan has a tropical climate with mountains to the east and west, with the Nile and its tributaries running through it. South Sudan includes the vast swamp region of the Sudd, formed by the White Nile.

Back to the Top

Last Updated: July 2011

South Sudan Main Page Country Profiles Main Page


Click any image to enlarge.

National Flag

Convert to Any Currency


Locator Map