We're always looking for ways to make better. Have an idea? See something that needs fixing? Let us know!

Yugoslavia: Government Structure
Country Study > Chapter 4 > Government and Politics > Government Structure


Source: Based on information from Josip Sruk, Ustavno uredjenje SFRJ, Zagreb, 1976, 329-32.


The Yugoslav Constitution of 1974 prescribed no division of powers among the bodies of the federal or republican governments. In practice, however, these entities resembled those of a parliamentary democracy in their division of responsibility. The basic structure and relationships of government institutions remained the same from 1974 through 1990.

Data as of December 1990

Last Updated: December 1990

Editor's Note: Country Studies included here were published between 1988 and 1998. The Country study for Yugoslavia was first published in 1990. Where available, the data has been updated through 2008. The date at the bottom of each section will indicate the time period of the data. Information on some countries may no longer be up to date. See the "Research Completed" date at the beginning of each study on the Title Page or the "Data as of" date at the end of each section of text. This information is included due to its comprehensiveness and for historical purposes.

Note that current information from the CIA World Factbook, U.S. Department of State Background Notes, Australia's Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade Country Briefs, the UK's Foreign and Commonwealth Office's Country Profiles, and the World Bank can be found on

Yugoslavia Main Page Country Studies Main Page

Section 133 of 208


Click any image to enlarge.

National Flag

(din.) Yugoslav Dinar (YDN)
Convert to Any Currency